Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Problems | The Best Holiday Gifts | Best Fitness Trackers Under $50 | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy

Use It

author photo

8 Things You Need to Delete Before Selling Your iPhone

by on October 03, 2014
in Cell Phones, Phones and Mobile, Tips & How-Tos :: 11 comments

by Nicole Nguyen

Ready to trade in your old iPhone for something bigger, faster, and thinner (like the iPhone 6 or iPhone 6 Plus)? Before taking a gander at our tips for reselling, look at this checklist to make sure you've deleted all important data from your iPhone. Don't leave anything behind!

1. Back up your iPhone.

2. Connect your phone to your computer and open your phone using the file viewer. Copy your photos and videos to your computer. Then, manually shred files using your computer's file shredding program. We like File Shredder (free) for Windows PCs and Permanent Eraser (free) for Macs.

3. Turn iMessage off. Open the Settings app > Messages > iMessage > switch to off.

4. Turn FaceTime off. Open the Settings app > FaceTime > switch to off.

5. Disable your iCloud account. Open the Settings app > iCloud > tap "Delete Account" to delete the account from the device.

6. Log out of Apple ID. Open the Settings app > iTunes & App Stores > tap Apple ID and sign out.

7. Restore to factory settings. Open the Settings app > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

8. Unregister your device at supportprofile.apple.com.

9. Call your carrier and ask them to disassociate the device from your account. Some important numbers: Sprint: 1-800-SPRINT1; AT&T: 1-800-331-0500; Verizon: 1-800-VERIZON; T-Mobile: 1-800-T-MOBILE.

An important tip! Whatever you do, don't manually delete contacts, photo streams, calendars, or reminders while logged in to your iCloud account. This will also delete the content from the iCloud servers and your iCloud-connected devices (like your iPad or laptop).

Another important tip! If your phone accidentally runs out of battery during the "restore to factory settings" step, use iTunes to erase data. Connect the device to your computer, then restore the backup. Connect your phone to power, go to Settings app > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings again.

OK, but seriously, this is the last important tip! You can erase your device remotely. If you set up Find My iPhone, sign into icloud.com/#find, then click on All Devices and select the phone you want to erase. In the info window, click "Erase iPhone." You'll need to enter your Apple ID password.

Related stories from POPSUGAR:

 

Editor's note: Updated photo backup and deleting information.



Discussion loading

Unnecessary?

From Barbara McKenzie on October 27, 2014 :: 4:16 pm

Does the last tip (Erase using Find My iPhone) take the place of steps 2-6 or do you need to take those steps first?

Reply

avatar

It is better to perform

From Suzanne Kantra on October 28, 2014 :: 12:34 am

It is better to perform the reset on your phone. If you erase your phone with Find my Phone, you’ll also need to remove the phone from your Apple account (which is an option that pops up after you erase your phone with Find my Phone). It will then take 24 hours for you to be able to use your iMessage account on a new device.

Reply

Top dollar for old phone

From Dave Powers on January 09, 2015 :: 12:20 am

I sold my iPhone 5 for more than I paid for it on http://www.ching4ring.com. They paid my shipping, wiped it for me and I got on PayPal the same day they got my phone. Very fast transaction, highly recommended!

Reply

gravatar

A Most Helpful Post

From EnnisP on February 17, 2015 :: 3:09 am

Thank you for this very useful post. I’m not selling my iPhone but the information did help solve a problem that had frustrated me for hours.

Reply

gravatar

Great Post

From Joe Welch on June 04, 2015 :: 9:28 am

That’s really amazing post about that what are things we need to delete before selling our iPhone. Keep Posting.

Reply

gravatar

In fact, simple deletion and

From Sseasskk on June 17, 2015 :: 11:25 pm

In fact, simple deletion and restore the factory Settings cannot permanently wipe everything from your ios device. When you perform a “deletion” operation to delete personal data from ios device. Though, the data you can’t see .But tt is till be recovered by some professional data recovery program.
http://goo.gl/q9W4cI

Reply

gravatar

It is better to perform

From Perterr on July 29, 2015 :: 11:23 am

It is better to perform the reset on your phone. If you erase your phone with Find my Phone, you’ll also need to remove the phone from your
Apple account (which is an option that pops up after you erase your phone with Find my Phone). It will then take 24 hours for you to be able
to use your iMessage account on a new device.

This is the guide that offers 3 methods to erase data off iOS device:
http://www.safewiper.com/tutorials/delete-everything-on-iphone.html

Reply

gravatar

Great tips. But one thing,

From Nicky on August 31, 2015 :: 3:23 am

Great tips. But one thing, I would like to bring to your kind notice that Erase All Content and Settings is not always safe. Research scientist and security expert Jonathan Zdziarski, have tested and give out a report.  You should serach iPhone security flaw or read this article:
http://giveumore.com/resource/iphone-data-delete-flaw-and-safe-way-to-permanently-erase-iphone-data.html

Reply

"Test & Check for iPhone"

From Pop Bigbox on September 02, 2015 :: 11:05 am

When you buy iPhone, You can use an app called “Test & Check for iPhone” to test all iPhone’s functional.
video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gyv5QI-lno
download : https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1022281157

Reply

gravatar

You need to hook it

From Prislly on September 22, 2016 :: 6:41 am

You need to hook it up to your computer, run iTunes, and set it up as a new iPhone. This will erase all your data and put it do a “factory reset.” There are complete instructions on Apple’s web site. or other way is try some data wiping app.
http://www.mobiledic.com/ios-topics/how-to-erase-iphone-before-selling.html

Reply

gravatar

delete all the data

From Devean on October 11, 2016 :: 3:40 am

If you need to delete data from your idevices completely, use an ios data eraser tool, I think that is helpful.
You can erase all data with possibility to recover them, but remember to backup them first.

Reply

© 2015 Techlicious LLC. Home | About | Meet the Team | Sponsorship Opportunities | Newsletter Archive | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

site design: Juxtaprose