Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Problems | Browse the Web Anonymously | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy | How to Block Spam Calls

Top News Stories

author photo

Popular Face Aging App Is Grabbing the Rights to Your Photos

by on July 17, 2019
in Mobile Apps, News, Android Apps, iPhone/iPad Apps, Blog :: 0 comments

Techlicious editors independently review products. To help support our mission, we may earn affiliate commissions from links contained on this page.

You may have seen friends and family posting photos of themselves as they'll look in 20 years. They're using a popular app called FaceApp (iOS and Android), which uses AI to transform a photo in seconds, blending in facial features like wrinkles, age spots, gray hair, and teeth yellowing. But as curious as you may be to see your future self, don't get caught up in the fun.

Instead of processing your photo on your you device, the app sends it to the cloud. And by uploading your photo, you're agreeing to give the company behind the app, a Russian startup, the rights to use your photo.

As the FaceApp terms state: “You grant FaceApp a perpetual, irrevocable, nonexclusive, royalty-free, worldwide, fully-paid, transferable sub-licensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, publicly perform and display your User Content and any name, username or likeness provided in connection with your User Content in all media formats and channels now known or later developed, without compensation to you.”

You're also giving the company rights to use your photos for commercial purposes — ads, billboards etc. "By using the Services, you agree that the User Content may be used for commercial purposes. You further acknowledge that FaceApp’s use of the User Content for commercial purposes will not result in any injury to you or to any person you authorized to act on its behalf."

The company told TechCrunch that it only stores the photo for processing, it never sends the photos to Russia, and that it usually deletes the photos within 48 hours.

What you can do if you uploaded a photo to FaceApp

You can't revoke your agreement to the FaceApp terms. But, FaceApp does accept requests from users to remove all their data from FaceApp servers. The fastest way is to send your requests from the FaceApp mobile app using Settings > Support > Report a bug with the word “privacy” in the subject line. 

[Image credit: Techlicious/FaceApp]



Discussion loading

Home | About | Meet the Team | Contact Us
Media Kit | Newsletter Sponsorships
Newsletter Archive
Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookie Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

© Techlicious LLC.

site design: Juxtaprose