Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Pairing Problems | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy | How to Block Spam Calls | Snapchat Symbol Meaning

author photo

Use Facebook’s New Tool to Influence What You See in Your Feed

by on October 05, 2022
in News, Blog, Facebook :: 1 comment

Techlicious editors independently review products. To help support our mission, we may earn affiliate commissions from links contained on this page.

A few months ago, Facebook rolled out the Feeds tab, which enabled you to filter posts by friends, Groups, or Pages, in addition to your main news feed. Today, Facebook announced it is rolling out a new tool that enables you to boost the likelihood of seeing posts you like and decrease the chances of seeing posts you don’t enjoy.

The new “Show more” or “Show less” feature will sometimes appear as an option on some posts, and, in the coming weeks, you’ll be able to select the menu (triple dots) for a specific post to provide your feedback.

Two screenshots of Facebook news feed: on the left you see the option to Show More and Show Less under a post. On the right, you see the pull down menu for a specific post with the option to Show more and Show less.

By selecting “Show more” or “Show less,” you are temporarily impacting the ranking of posts that Facebook adds to your news feed, as well as posts from your connections, including friends, Groups, or people you follow. Facebook will use this feedback to help them shape their content algorithms and, hopefully, show you more relevant posts.

While Facebook is using your feedback to tweak their algorithms to show you more of what they think you’ll like, it's not the only option. You can still “Hide post” to remove the post entirely from your feed and see fewer like it. This sounds a lot like "Show less." However, Facebook told Techlicious, "Hide is a stronger signal that a particular piece of content is unwanted and triggers the ability to report that content. Show less is a subtler preference signal and has less of a demotion impact than Hide." You can also “Snooze” posts from a friend, Group, or Page for 30 days, and “Unfollow,” which doesn’t unfriend someone, but prevents their posts from showing in your Feeds. And if you want to see more posts from specific friends or Pages, you can “Add to Favorites.”

Check out our complete guide to Facebook Privacy settings for more ways to impact what you see on Facebook.

[Image credit: Facebook, Techlicious]

For the past 20+ years, Techlicious founder Suzanne Kantra has been exploring and writing about the world’s most exciting and important science and technology issues. Prior to Techlicious, Suzanne was the Technology Editor for Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia and the Senior Technology Editor for Popular Science. Suzanne has been featured on CNN, CBS, and NBC.



Discussion loading

Snooze page/group for 30 days feature was removed

From Erik on October 18, 2022 :: 6:08 am

At the time of this update, approx 2 weeks ago, facebook removed the “snooze this page/group for 30 days” option. All groups that had been previously snoozed are now no longer snoozed and i’m unable to snooze them again. Now it’s just cut and dry, either you see it forever or you never see it again. I enjoyed snoozing a group for 30 days and then checking in to catch up on memes followed by another 30 day snooze. Most groups i’m in are such garbage that once every 30 days is the ideal way to interact. Now my feed is full of garbage and I have to completely unfollow/leave groups/pages instead of just snoozing for a bit. Facebook really dropped the ball on this one. I swear that Zuck dude is trying to destroy his company once update at a time

Reply

Home | About | Meet the Team | Contact Us
Media Kit | Newsletter Sponsorships
Accessibility Statement
Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookie Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

© Techlicious LLC.