Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Problems | Browse the Web Anonymously | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy | How to Block Spam Calls

Top News Stories

author photo

Facebook Messenger Now Lets You Unsend Messages

by on February 07, 2019
in Facebook, News, Blog, Tech 101, Social Networking :: 0 comments

Techlicious editors independently review products. To help support our mission, we may earn affiliate commissions from links contained on this page.

If you've ever accidentally mistyped or simply had second thoughts about a Facebook Message you sent, you can now unsend messages. It's a feature Facebook has been talking about for a while — and one we know Mark Zuckerberg has long been using — but now it's available for everyone.

You will have to be quick about removing messages though, as you only have a 10-minute window to unsend. That makes it perfect for getting rid of mistakes, especially since you can easily check to see if your Facebook message has been read before you delete it. But if you have regrets about a message you sent a friend last week, you're still out of luck. This probably isn't a feature you'll use every day, but it will come in handy when you need it.

Unsend works on the web or in the Messenger app for Android or iOS, and it's pretty simple to use. Here's how to unsend your messages.

Facebook Messenger unsend

On the web:

  • Click the more icon — it looks like three dots — to the left of the message you want to delete.
  • Select "Remove" or "Remove for Everyone"
  • Click "Remove" at the bottom of the window

In the app:

  • Press and hold the message, like you were going to send a reaction to it
  • Select "Remove" or "Remove for Everyone" at the bottom of the screen
  • Click "Remove" in the pop-up

Once you've removed a message, everyone in the conversation will see a note that you removed a message. So your messaging faux pas won't be completely invisible, but the message itself is gone. And in case any users think to abuse this feature by sending messages that violate Facebook's community guidelines and then deleting them, you can report a deleted message — and Facebook saves deleted messages behind the scene so reports can be reviewed.

This feature is available now, so you should be able to use it the next time you slip up and send a message to the wrong person. 

[Image credit: Messenger on a mobile device via BigStockPhoto, Facebook



Discussion loading

Home | About | Meet the Team | Contact Us
Media Kit | Newsletter Sponsorships
Newsletter Archive
Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookie Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

© Techlicious LLC.

site design: Juxtaprose