Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Pairing Problems | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy | How to Block Spam Calls | Snapchat Symbol Meaning

We may earn commissions when you buy from links on our site. Why you can trust us.

author photo

Watch Out for Philo Subscription Email Scams

by Josh Kirschner on November 01, 2022

Recently, I wrote about an uptick in fake Geek Squad subscription emails that scammers use to trick you into buying fraudulent services or to phish for credit card information. It appears the same methodology is being used in conjunction with emails for Philo TV subscriptions (a popular budget streaming TV service), so that is another vector to watch out for.

The scam begins when you get an email informing you that your subscription to Philo TV has been activated. The scam email I received was personalized to me, suggesting that the scammers are using a hacked database of information to add an air of legitimacy to the scam.

Good Afternoon Josh Kirschner, Please be aware that your payment is due.

Your Philo TV subscription will be active in 24 hours! After that you will be able to login to your Philo account with an email that you have mentioned during the registration process, and get a full access to your Philo TV.

There is nothing you have to do in order to stay with Philo! The payment for this invoice will be taken off from the account that you mentioned automatically..

We are thankful you decided to prolong with Philo.

In case you have any problems regarding your subscription please check the invoice below. There we got all the details about your subscription and our customer care phone number.

After any free trial(s), you will be charged the mentioned amount plus taxes on a recurring monthly basis. If you do not cancel during the free trial period, you will be charged. Your subscription will continue until you terminate it.

Thanks,

Philo group

In addition to the email note, there was also an attached personalized PDF with my subscription details.

Attached PDF with the following language: Welcome to Philo! Your membership is now active  Confirmation #732623552  Billed to Josh Kirschner Payment method Credit Card Subscription price $59.99 Tax $4.35 Total monthly payment $64.34  Hi Josh Kirschner,  Your Philo TV is ready for you. Your subscription number is #732623552. Your personal number is also your discount coupon. Invite friends to Philo with your personal number and get huge benefits from Philo. Now and only with Philo, you can record an unlimited amount of live or future shows to your DVR and save them for up to 1 year. Are you an existing user with a 30-day DVR? Visit our help page and learn how to upgrade to the Unlimited 1-year DVR. Any problems with your Philo TV or want to cancel it? Just call our customer care support at +1(732) 831 74-86 Yours, Philo crew

If you’re not a Philo subscriber, your concerns would immediately be raised about why you’re now signed up for this service you’ve probably never even heard of. And if you are a subscriber, the hefty price – Philo is normally priced at $25 per month – would certainly set off alarm bells. So, I called the number listed to see how this scam progressed.

After a few minutes on hold, I was connected to someone. He asked me for my subscription number from the PDF and then confirmed my name – indicating he had access to the same database used to send out the emails. To confirm my subscription status, he directed me to go to tvphilo dot com and click on “Check my Subscription”. The check didn’t function, so he suggested we have a support call and sent me a link to a Zoho remote support session.

Remote support sessions – whether through Zoho, LogMeIn or another service – are a typical way scammers trick you into gaining access to your computer. Once in, they may try to convince you there is malware on your laptop by showing you completely normal system processes (yet scary sounding to novices), or even install malware directly under the guise of a system utility or antimalware program. The follow-up is to then get you to agree to pay for additional support or software services to remove the non-existent malware. At this point, I ended the process, as there was no way I was giving this guy access to my computer.

If you know what to look for, there were many clues that the email and various steps I went through were all part of a scam. First, the email came from a Hotmail account and had multiple grammar issues, along with wording that doesn’t sound like it came from a native English speaker. No company is going to send official emails from a Hotmail account.

Once I was on the phone and he directed me to tvphilo.com, I immediately Googled Philo to confirm that tvphilo dot com is NOT the real Philo site (philo.com); it is an impersonation site constructed to fool you into thinking you’re on the official page. A quick ICANN domain check shows that tvphilo dot com was set up on 10/31/2022, the same day I received the scam. The lesson here is to always type in URLs directly when you want to reach a company site or Google to get the URL. Never click on a URL or link in an email you suspect may be fraudulent. Nor should you follow directions to call a number or visit a site provided to you by someone on the phone.

And finally, there is never a reason why anyone would ever need direct access to your computer unless you have contacted your manufacturer’s support help desk directly to resolve a hardware or software issue (and, even then, it’s pretty rare), so don’t give it to them.

[Image credit: Techlicious/Smartmockups]

Josh Kirschner is the co-founder of Techlicious and has been covering consumer tech for more than a decade. Josh started his first company while still in college, a consumer electronics retailer focused on students. His writing has been featured in Today.com, NBC News and Time.


Topics

News, Computers and Software, Computer Safety & Support, Blog


Discussion loading

gravatar

From ANON on November 08, 2022 :: 2:58 pm


JOSH—thanks!
RE: PHILO TV Scam—-I got it also NOV 8 2022

Reply

gravatar

From anon on November 08, 2022 :: 3:07 pm


In the PHILO TV scam email they want you to call -845-875-4352 to cancel which might be part 2 of the scam.  Sometimes they want more info or to send you malware to click on.  Beware.

Reply

gravatar

From Willis Bartlett on December 17, 2022 :: 10:13 am


Thank You for the gift of knowledge. Very informative at the novice level I need. In fact so informative im afraid to click on even your links (lol). The random links and insane stuff strangers do tend to send online is insane.Do educate me further. I like Your format very much. I’m very smart when not sidetracked by You Tube or porn (lol). I’m working on that as well. The sidetracked thing. Next lesson please? Merry Christmas.

Reply

Home | About | Meet the Team | Contact Us
Media Kit | Newsletter Sponsorships | Licensing & Permissions
Accessibility Statement
Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookie Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

© Techlicious LLC.