Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Pairing Problems | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy | How to Block Spam Calls | Snapchat Symbol Meaning

We may earn commissions when you buy from links on our site. Why you can trust us.

author photo

Hide Your Own Video in Google Meet While Remaining Visible to Others

by Josh Kirschner on October 03, 2023

In the new remote work world, 95 percent of the meetings I have are virtual. I've largely adapted to the new normal. But one thing that I can't stand with the Brady Bunch array of boxes on my video calls is seeing my own video staring back at me – I don't bring mirrors to prop up in my in-person meetings, I don't need one in my virtual ones.

At the same time, I still want others on the call to be able to see me – I'm not hiding from them, just myself.

Fortunately, all the major video call platforms have settings that allow you to hide your video so you can't see it, while still keeping it on for everyone else on the call. I previously covered how to do this for Zoom calls, but if you're often on Google Meet, as I am, here are the steps.

Steps to hide your video from yourself on Google Meet

1. Join the meeting

Start by joining the Google Meet session as you normally would, either by clicking on the meeting link or entering the meeting code.

2. Ensure your video is on

Before you can hide your video from yourself, make sure your video is turned on so others can see you. You can do this by checking the video icon at the bottom of the screen. If it's red with a line through it, click on it to activate your video.

3. Hide self-view

Tap (mobile) or mouse-over (desktop) your video tile and click the three vertical dots that appear over your image.

Click "Minimize" to hide your video. This will remove your video feed from your screen, but others in the meeting will still be able to see you and you will still see your name listed in the bottom corner.

Screenshot of Google Meet showing the message: You are still sending your video to others in the meeting.

To re-enable self-view

If at any point during the meeting you wish to see your video feed again, click the double-headed arrow next to your name to re-expand your window.

Things to remember

  • Hiding your self-view does not turn off your camera. It merely hides your video feed from your view. Others in the meeting can still see you.
  • If you genuinely want to turn off your video so no one can see you, click on the video icon at the bottom of the screen
  • In addition to reducing distractions, hiding your own video also frees up more space to see the other participants.

[Image credit: Screenshot via Techlicious, Smartmockup via Canva]

Josh Kirschner is the co-founder of Techlicious and has been covering consumer tech for more than a decade. Josh started his first company while still in college, a consumer electronics retailer focused on students. His writing has been featured in Today.com, NBC News and Time.


Topics

Tips & How-Tos, Computers and Software, Internet & Networking, Productivity


Discussion loading

Home | About | Meet the Team | Contact Us
Media Kit | Newsletter Sponsorships
Accessibility Statement
Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookie Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

© Techlicious LLC.