Tech Made Simple

Hot Topics: How to Fix Bluetooth Problems | Quell Pain Relief Review | Best TVs Under $500 | Complete Guide to Facebook Privacy

Use It

author photo

How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently

by on March 26, 2018
in Tips & How-Tos, Computers and Software, Facebook, Privacy, Tech 101, Social Networking :: 13 comments

Ever think about closing your Facebook account? Perhaps you don't want to worry about the privacy threat you and your spouse pose when posting. Or maybe you’d like some time back in your life and simply want to spend less time online.

Whatever your reason for ditching Facebook, you should know it’s a relatively easy thing to do. There are two ways to quit—one that’s reversible in case you change your mind, and the other permanent, for those who are certain they want out.

Deactivating Your Facebook Account

Deactivate your Facebook account

Deactivating your account puts it on hold and hides your timeline on the site. Facebook doesn’t delete any of your information just in case you want to come back into the fold. I’ve actually used this option in the past and it’s an easy way to take a break from Facebook and then later switch the lights back on. Once you do, everything comes back—your friends, your likes, previous posts and anything else you did at the site.

You should know, however, deactivating your account does not remove your name from your friends’ lists of friends. If it bothers you that your friends might wonder why they’re not seeing your posts, but can still see you as a friend, it might make sense to let them know you’re leaving the network for a while.

If you want to give deactivation a shot, select the down arrow in the top right, go to Settings > Manage Your Account > Deactivate Your Account. Or, visit https://www.facebook.com/editaccount.php and select Manage Your Account > Deactivate Your Account.

Deleting Your Facebook Account

Deleting Your Facebook Account

Deletion is the other option and it’s only for people who are absolutely sure they’re never coming back to Facebook and don’t mind the idea of starting from scratch in the event they do change their minds.

When you delete your account, Facebook permanently removes it. Facebook says the deletion process typically takes about one month although “some information may remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days.”

To delete your account, visit https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.

Keep in mind that messages you’ve sent to other people or posts you’ve shared with groups remain on Facebook even after you delete your account.

How to Download Your Facebook Data

How to Download Your Facebook Data

Before permanently deleting your account Facebook recommends that you download a copy of all the data Facebook has on you. Select the down arrow, select "Settings" and then select "Download a copy" of your Facebook data.

Even if you’re staying on Facebook it’s a good idea—you might be surprised at how much there is. 

Why do you want all your data? For one thing, it’s pretty enlightening to see the vast amount of information you’ve shared on Facebook. Even casual users may find that they've shared an incredible amount of information about myself. To get a sense of what's in your Facebook data file, go to the down arrow and select "Activity Log."

If you do decide to download your personal archive, make sure to store it somewhere safe. It will likely be a huge repository of personal information you likely don’t want to share with others.

[Image credit: Facebook on laptop via BigStockPhoto]



Discussion loading

gravatar

Other tracking

From Wapi on March 27, 2018 :: 11:28 am

Would be great to know how to remove all the remaining things tracking you after you leave. Would appreciate an article about that.

Reply

gravatar

FB help please

From Marilyn on March 27, 2018 :: 1:10 pm

Hi,

Thank you for the article but suggest you show how to get to General Account Settings, I had to Google it to find mine.

Thank you
Marilyn

Reply

gravatar

tried the delete facebook option,

From cant delete facebook! on April 18, 2018 :: 3:56 pm

tried the delete facebook option, looks like they have taken it down. Everytime i click on the link to request a form to delte it just takes me to my facebook account main page. What now?

Reply

avatar

Request a form?

From Josh Kirschner on April 18, 2018 :: 5:08 pm

You should just see a page on Facebook with a button to delete your Facebook account, there’s no form to request. Try this link: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

Reply

gravatar

Several Facebooks

From Rayla Kuykendall on April 22, 2018 :: 10:49 am

I have so many facebook accounts because I always gave my old phone to 1 of my grandchildren @they log me out@I forget password, can you please help me to delete them, I have logged out, and tried in ever way to delete accounts nothing has worked, I just got a new phone, but because I used my picture on his profile, I can’t get back to mine, I do know the password to last facebook, but won’t let me log in!Please help, Sincerely Rayla Kuykendall

Reply

avatar

Reset password?

From Josh Kirschner on April 23, 2018 :: 12:16 pm

I’m not following you completely, when you say it won’t let you log back in, what message are you getting? Is it a wrong password? I which case you just need to rest it if you’ve forgotten it.

Also, Facebook only allows one account per email address. So unless you created multiple accounts with multiple email addresses, you should only have one Facebook account in your name.

Reply

gravatar

Deactivation

From Emily Downton on May 07, 2018 :: 8:02 am

Guys, Iā€™d like a simple answer to this question.
If I deactivate Facebook, does it also deactivate nearby friends or can other people still see My approximate location?

Reply

avatar

It will turn off nearby friends

From Josh Kirschner on May 07, 2018 :: 12:04 pm

You can turn off nearby friends in the setting of your Facebook app. So it’s not necessary to deactivate Facebook to turn off this feature. However, if you do deactivate Facebook, this should deactivate your location visibility for your prior friends, as well. Since the Nearby Friends feature uses the Facebook app to gather location, removing the app from your phone after deactivation will make doubly-sure your location can no longer be tracked by Facebook.

Reply

gravatar

Thank you Josh, very helpful.

From Emily Downton on May 08, 2018 :: 1:24 am

Thank you Josh, very helpful. šŸ˜ƒšŸ‘

Reply

gravatar

Delete

From Patsy Willemet on May 07, 2018 :: 9:23 pm

I have been hacked by Pasty Wanker. I want to permanently be deleted from Facebook for ever

Reply

gravatar

Permitally remove Patsy willemet from facebook

From Patsy on May 09, 2018 :: 12:19 am

Please delete my account

Reply

avatar

Follow instructions above to delete your Facebook account

From Josh Kirschner on May 09, 2018 :: 10:42 am

Hi Patsy,

If you want to delete your Facebook account, you need to follow the instructions in the article above. Putting a request to delete in these comments isn’t going to do anything for you.

Josh

Reply

gravatar

can't get out, if they won't let you in>>>>

From xsnake on May 10, 2018 :: 9:47 am

Title says it all.
Signed up ONLY because many “news” sites require facebook account to login, if you wish to use their comment section.
Apparently someone (or more?) had a problem with one or more of my comments.
Refused entry to ALL sites that use the facebook login function.
“Problem?” We’ll send you a number to use to get into your account…“94336”....use it….get a message that there’s some tech problem…“try again later.”
“Later.”...months so far.
      Like I said,“can’t get out, if you can’t get in.”
By the way…..the cretins still send me update crap, no less than half a dozen times a day.

Reply

© Techlicious LLC. Home | About | Meet the Team | Sponsorship Opportunities | Newsletter Archive | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

Techlicious participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, which provide a small commission from some, but not all, of the "click-thru to buy" links contained in our articles. These click-thru links are determined after the article has been written, based on price and product availability — the commissions do not impact our choice of recommended product, nor the price you pay. When you use these links, you help support our ongoing editorial mission to provide you with the best product recommendations.

site design: Juxtaprose